Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Can I make a Master Key from Valet Key?
skaufmann
post Jul 18 2012, 12:36 PM
Post #1

Blissfully Ignorant

Group: Members
Member No.: 13,123
Region Association: Southern California

I only have the original Valet key that turns the ignition. I have a 2nd key (Master) that opens the passenger door (and nothing else) and a 3rd key (Valet) that open the driver door (and nothing else).

From what I can gather, the only difference between the master key and the valet key is the channeling down the side of the key, not the notch/tooth profile. If I'm correct, can I make a copy of the original Valet key to a new Master key?

My thought is it's easier to rekey the door locks and I suspect the new Master will then work the trunk and glove box since those were not likely replaced like the door locks were.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
r_towle
post Jul 18 2012, 12:46 PM
Post #2

Custom Member

Member No.: 124
Region Association: North East States

You should be able to use the valet key to make a master that will run the ignition.
It sounds like someone has already swapped out the door lock assemblies, thus why you have two keys.

You will most likely have to re-key all the locks to match the new master key.
Its not a hard project, just time consuming.

rich
+Quote Post
skaufmann
post Jul 18 2012, 12:51 PM
Post #3

Blissfully Ignorant

QUOTE(r_towle @ Jul 18 2012, 11:46 AM) *

You should be able to use the valet key to make a master that will run the ignition.