Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 1st clutch change, Help needed to replace one?
georgia914
post Nov 28 2004, 09:38 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,413

I am replacing the clutch in my 914. First time dropping the tranny, seemed simple enough...
1) Can I drop the shafts at the tranny by removing the cv bolts?
2) What tool to remove the cv bolts? looks like t-40 w/ more teeth
3) Any other surprises or tricks to make this happen?
I have never done this before, and have not found any instructions or how to info...
Thanks a million,
Robert
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ClayPerrine
post Nov 28 2004, 10:06 AM
Post #2

Life's been good to me so far.....

Group: Admin
Member No.: 1,143
Region Association: NineFourteenerVille

Yes, you can remove the CV joint bolts to disconnect the axles. The tool is a "triple square" not a torx. I don't remember the size. Suggestion, when you disconnect the CV joint, put a plastic bag over it to keep from loosing the grease. Also, when you go back with the CV bolts, make sure that you put in new CV gaskets, and that you torque the bolts correctly. If incorrectly torqued, they will back out and the CV joint can come off at speed. This could cause major damage, up to, and including a broken transmission case.

You also need to clean the pulley that the clutch cable runs over, and replace the throwout bearing, the pressure plate, and all the little plastic bits for the clutch arm while you are there.
+Quote Post
Bruce Allert
post Nov 28 2004, 10:47 AM
Post #3

Hellions asleep

Member No.: 441