Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Is this rust FATAL?
Jason914
post Dec 30 2004, 08:24 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 3,359

First, housekeeping, I am new to Porsche and this site. Is there a thread where I should introduce myself?

Now, my problem. My 914 has rusted through the metal panel located under the spare tire. From the top of the car I can see the suspension. Can this be fixed? Does anyone know of a source for a new panel and what this panel is called?

Thanks,
Jason
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Rusty
post Dec 30 2004, 08:30 AM
Post #2

Wanted: Engine case GA003709

Group: Admin
Member No.: 6
Region Association: Galt's Gulch

Hi Jason! You just created the place to introduce yourself!

Welcome! (IMG:http://www.914world.com/bbs2/html/emoticons/clap.gif)

Sounds like it's the front trunk floor. It would be easier to determine the extent of the repair, if you could post a picture of it. I don't know of anyone making a repro piece for that area - but donor cars usually pop up.

-Lawrence
+Quote Post
Rusty
post Dec 30 2004, 08:32 AM
Post #3

Wanted: Engine case GA003709

Member No.: 6
Region Association: Galt's Gulch

P.S. Have you checked under the rocker panels (long black panels on below the doors)? Or the battery tray (in the engine compartment) and the area beneath it? Those are classic, and potentially fatal areas for rust to occur.

-Lawrence
+Quote Post
spare time toys
post Dec 30 2004, 08:33 AM
Post #4

hooked on grilling food.

Member No.: 1,884
Region Association: Southwest Region