Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> First kinda-lame experience..., ...but already recovering!
eriqx
post Jul 24 2014, 01:16 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 17,606
Region Association: Upper MidWest

So, without running on and on with too much detail... as per this thread:
http://www.914world.com/bbs2/index.php?sho...=239222&hl=
I am pretty new to this.

As far as quick background goes, I am pretty handy. But that said, I am absolutely not a mechanic. I like to tinker, and take things apart. But there is plenty that I am just going to pay someone else to do. My primary focus with my 914 is to drive around in it, and enjoy it for as long as possible.

I found a fun little specialty shop, that was recommended by a friend (who knows the owner personally), that specializes in German makes, old and new. I took it in for the standard once-over. In short, they kinda blew me off. Before they even pulled it into the back, they were confirming that I had "already bought this thing" (with a negative connotation), and "what were my intentions for this car", etc. etc. It was off-putting. After it was all said and done, they mentioned a few minor concerns, and said that the fair amount of rust lurking underneath should deter me from "pouring any money into this thing". Then they said I'd get a copy of the list (of repair needs), I would not get a quote on any repairs for another day (understandable, 44-year-old parts to be found). At which point I paid, realized later I got the receipt (but NO copy of the list), and they never called back (ever) with any quotes.