Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

3 Pages V  1 2 3 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Converting to a 914-6, I am not a mechanic... Am I crazy....?
Beeliner
post Oct 21 2014, 05:54 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 17,725
Region Association: North East States

I purchased a 1975 914 that is very original, except for the change of color.

This is my fifth one. I bought three new in the seventies, and two recently.

The problem is that I will be mostly supplying the money, and not the expertise... My mechanic is factory trained and was drooling over the opportunity. He just finished a Boxster rebuild over the weekend.

Here is a picture of the car. It recently had a rustectomy and new paint. The engine and car is now stock all the way, original FI is still there.

It is a DD.

I know the car will have to be strengthened, sway bars added, and all of that...

But is this an insane project when one is not a mechanic? I don't want flared fenders, so no major exterior cosmetics are to be done... Is $9k for motor and parts reasonable? My mechanic wants to rebuild the engine, so one needing work is what we are looking for.

Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image

Attached image(s)
Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
carr914
post Oct 21 2014, 06:20 PM
Post #2

Racer from Birth
****************************************************************************************************

Member No.: 1,623
Region Association: South East States

It all depends on how much money you have! To do it right you are talking between $12k-$20k
+Quote Post
GeorgeRud