Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs
 
914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!
 
Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
 

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

14 Pages V « < 12 13 14  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> MicroSquit Conversion, Giving this a try
914Tom
post Sep 12 2017, 04:16 AM
Post #261


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 122
Joined: 11-February 07
From: Germany
Member No.: 7,526



(IMG:style_emoticons/default/popcorn[1].gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
poorsche914
post Sep 12 2017, 08:49 AM
Post #262


2056...
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,424
Joined: 28-May 09
From: Smoky Mountains
Member No.: 10,419
Region Association: South East States



QUOTE(914Tom @ Sep 12 2017, 06:16 AM) *

The journey continues in THIS THREAD

(IMG:style_emoticons/default/driving.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Vacca Rabite
post Sep 12 2017, 08:59 AM
Post #263


En Garde!
**********

Group: Admin
Posts: 11,365
Joined: 15-December 03
From: Dallastown, PA
Member No.: 1,435
Region Association: MidAtlantic Region



Now that it is running GET IT DYNO TUNED.

Seriously, you will be chasing your tail for a long time. Let a pro handle it now, and you will be driving your car.

Zach
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mblizzard
post Sep 12 2017, 09:06 AM
Post #264


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,236
Joined: 28-January 13
From: Knoxville Tn
Member No.: 15,438
Region Association: South East States



QUOTE(Vacca Rabite @ Sep 12 2017, 06:59 AM) *

Now that it is running GET IT DYNO TUNED.

Seriously, you will be chasing your tail for a long time. Let a pro handle it now, and you will be driving your car.

Zach


I will do that after I add the ignition component but I don't know of anyone local that does this.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mblizzard
post Sep 12 2017, 09:06 AM
Post #265


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,236
Joined: 28-January 13
From: Knoxville Tn
Member No.: 15,438
Region Association: South East States



QUOTE(poorsche914 @ Sep 12 2017, 06:49 AM) *

QUOTE(914Tom @ Sep 12 2017, 06:16 AM) *

The journey continues in THIS THREAD

(IMG:style_emoticons/default/driving.gif)


That's my bitter thread! did not want to discourage people.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
McMark
post Sep 19 2017, 11:56 AM
Post #266


I'm a 914
***************

Group: Admin
Posts: 19,755
Joined: 13-March 03
From: Grand Rapids, MI
Member No.: 419
Region Association: North East States



Just went through configuring a MicroSquirt brain running MS2E firmware and the trigger offset (Trigger #1 Angle) settings are calculated differently between the two firmwares.

MicroSquirt 3.83 firmware would end up being around 290° as mentioned above.

but...
Mike is running the MS2E firmware and the angle for that is around 60°.


Attached image(s)
Attached Image Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mblizzard
post Nov 8 2017, 01:21 PM
Post #267


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,236
Joined: 28-January 13
From: Knoxville Tn
Member No.: 15,438
Region Association: South East States



OK so now I am really confused.

I noted Marks comment about the firmware. I noticed that I was not running the latest MicroSquirt Firmware. So I decided to update.

I got a whole bunch of crap that did not seem to work anymore. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/WTF.gif)

Attached Image

When I made a new project under the new firmware there were a lot less options available for setting things up. Like no programmable on/offs.

Attached Image

Not sure this is what I want. Any idea if I screwed something up in the firmware update or is this what it is suppose to be?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
crash914
post Nov 8 2017, 01:38 PM
Post #268


its a mystery to me
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,695
Joined: 17-March 03
From: Woodstock, Maryland...groovy!!
Member No.: 434
Region Association: MidAtlantic Region



difference is Microsquirt firmware and MS@Extra firmware.
Both can be run on Microsquirt hardware.

Please list what you are using? unless you did before...
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mblizzard
post Nov 8 2017, 01:44 PM
Post #269


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,236
Joined: 28-January 13
From: Knoxville Tn
Member No.: 15,438
Region Association: South East States



QUOTE(crash914 @ Nov 8 2017, 11:38 AM) *

difference is Microsquirt firmware and MS@Extra firmware.
Both can be run on Microsquirt hardware.

Please list what you are using? unless you did before...


Was running the MS2E firmware V3.0.28 on the Microsquirt controller.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
crash914
post Nov 8 2017, 01:50 PM
Post #270


its a mystery to me
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,695
Joined: 17-March 03
From: Woodstock, Maryland...groovy!!
Member No.: 434
Region Association: MidAtlantic Region



Might be worth it to upgrade to the 3.4.2 version.

here:http://www.msextra.com/downloads
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mblizzard
post Nov 8 2017, 02:05 PM
Post #271


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,236
Joined: 28-January 13
From: Knoxville Tn
Member No.: 15,438
Region Association: South East States



So what I am seeing is that going to the Microsquirt code is a downgrade compared to MS-II?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
crash914
post Nov 8 2017, 02:12 PM
Post #272


its a mystery to me
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,695
Joined: 17-March 03
From: Woodstock, Maryland...groovy!!
Member No.: 434
Region Association: MidAtlantic Region



I am not the best one to answer that, Mark would know better, however for me, I need to use the "EXTRA" code for the sequential injection mode for fuel and spark. The standard code doesn't have that option.
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mblizzard
post Nov 13 2017, 02:44 PM
Post #273


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,236
Joined: 28-January 13
From: Knoxville Tn
Member No.: 15,438
Region Association: South East States




OK so it is clear that the MicroSquirt Code is not what I want to use! Thank goodness for back up files. All switched back to MegaSquirt.

I have been chasing some vacuum leaks for some time. I finally found a major one yesterday. Could not get a photo but on the 2.0 plenum the throttle body is mounted on there are two support tubes that run from the top to the bottom. The weld on both of these tubes is sucking air! Did a quick fix on the top side but I would think it might be leaking on the bottom as well.

Likely explains my idle issues. I think as the engine heated up the break expanded. I checked for leaks countless times but I never thought these would be the source. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/headbang.gif)

Drove for a while after and let the autotune work. Will have to play with the tune a bit more.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
McMark
post Nov 13 2017, 04:53 PM
Post #274


I'm a 914
***************

Group: Admin
Posts: 19,755
Joined: 13-March 03
From: Grand Rapids, MI
Member No.: 419
Region Association: North East States



I wish there was a 'recommended firmware' page for the MicroSquirt. The MicroSquirt firmware seems to be stagnant at 3.83. I have the impression that MS2E firmware has become the standard. That's what DIYAutotune ships on new MicroSquirt ECUs, and it's what I'm moving everything over to. There's a lot more features.

Cracked and/or rusted plenums seem to be a more and more common issue. I sent one 2.0 plenum out for blasting and powdercoating. Came back with swiss-cheese holes on the bottom. You should pull the entire thing to fix it correctly. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/wink.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Dave_Darling
post Nov 13 2017, 09:22 PM
Post #275


914 Idiot
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 13,208
Joined: 9-January 03
From: Silly-con Valley, CA
Member No.: 121
Region Association: Northern California



QUOTE(Mblizzard @ Nov 13 2017, 12:44 PM) *
... on the 2.0 plenum the throttle body is mounted on there are two support tubes that run from the top to the bottom. The weld on both of these tubes is sucking air!


A relatively common issue. I've hit it more than once. Anyone with 2.0 manifolds should check those.

--DD
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mblizzard
post Nov 14 2017, 09:51 AM
Post #276


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,236
Joined: 28-January 13
From: Knoxville Tn
Member No.: 15,438
Region Association: South East States



Drove to work this morning running auto tune on my laptop. Revised a number of values on the VE table. But more consistently seeing target AFR matching real-time AFR.

Getting much lower MAP at idle. But I still think I am missing some power. May be that the bottom part of the engine is tired. Wondering if I have some excessive cam wear and I am just not getting full performance. Will work with McMark on that.

I just don't get the quick throttle response from the engine when going along and have to hit it hard. Don't expect it to spin the tires in 5th gear or anything would like to see a bit more punch.

I am using 100% TPS accel enrichment. Will work a bit more on getting the VE table refined and then dial in the TPS accel a bit more. Not seeing it go lean on accel so I think it is getting enough fuel.

Attached Image

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
McMark
post Nov 14 2017, 10:46 AM
Post #277


I'm a 914
***************

Group: Admin
Posts: 19,755
Joined: 13-March 03
From: Grand Rapids, MI
Member No.: 419
Region Association: North East States



Where's the datalog? (IMG:style_emoticons/default/poke.gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mblizzard
post Nov 14 2017, 11:04 AM
Post #278


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,236
Joined: 28-January 13
From: Knoxville Tn
Member No.: 15,438
Region Association: South East States



QUOTE(McMark @ Nov 14 2017, 08:46 AM) *

Where's the datalog? (IMG:style_emoticons/default/poke.gif)


Forgot to push the button! Will log on the way home tonight!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

14 Pages V « < 12 13 14
Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 19th November 2017 - 04:49 PM