Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Trouble with brake bleeding, I can't get any pressure in the system
Lozgib
post Oct 22 2016, 10:52 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 20,236
Region Association: None

Hi. I'm new to Porsche 914 ownership so please go easy on me. I have owned vw splitscreen buses for 30 years and restored loads of them though.

I bought a California 914 a few months back that is running fine now but had been sitting for a number of years needing the brakes restoring as all four callipers had sized and master cylinder leaked.

I replaced all four callipers with rebuilt OG units from a reputable USA supplier together with a new master cylinder. I've bled the system 4 times using the easy self pressure method and combined traditional two person method and also combined both together as described on forums.

I get clear brake fluid at each wheel with no bubbles but I have no pressure at all at the pedal. It goes straight to the floor.
I've read every brake thread on this and other forums and can't find a solution. I have not replaced the pressure regulator as they aren't available her in the uk but would that cause zero pressure?

I'm thinking there may be an issue with one or more of the callipers. I've got no leaks I can detect on the system. I'm stumped and lost for what to try next?

Any help would be appreciated.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
GeorgeRud
post Oct 22 2016, 02:42 PM
Post #2

Advanced Member

Member No.: 4,482
Region Association: Upper MidWest