Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Engine Assembly Lube Question
Cazz
post Dec 22 2016, 10:50 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 20,688
Region Association: None

I am a Newbie here. Rebuilding the engine on my 2.0 914

Question: Using assembly lube on the bottom end components. Is it used everywhere? I know it's used on the camshaft lobes but is it used on all bearings, lifters, cylinder walls and crank as well? Will it clog up oil holes and passages?

Ive talked to several people who just use oil instead of assembly lube.

Which is better
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
porschetub
post Dec 22 2016, 12:35 PM
Post #2

Advanced Member

Member No.: 18,995

I've never use it except on cams but I always prelube with motor oil during assembly,I never start any engine until I have good oil pressure.
+Quote Post
dlee6204
post Dec 22 2016, 01:35 PM
Post #3

Howdy

Member No.: 5,956

A lot of folks also use lube depending on how long the motor will sit before being ran. More than 6 months=use lube.
+Quote Post
zipedadoo
post Dec 22 2016, 01:41 PM
Post #4

Member No.: 16,921

I use assembly lube on the cam and lifters and clean motor oil on every thing else.

I have never seen assembly lube plug up a oil passage but I have seen it plug up a new oil filter.
+Quote Post
Mark Henry
post Dec 22 2016, 02:25 PM
Post #5

that's what I do!

Member No.: 26
Region Association: Canada

The /4 and /6 are totally different animals to assemble.