Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Body Filler
GeorgeRud
post Feb 22 2017, 03:33 PM
Post #1

Advanced Member

Group: Members
Member No.: 4,482
Region Association: Upper MidWest

As I have no bodywork experience, I wonder if it's standard to completely cover the body with filler, then sand it down (as seen on many of the Velocity Channel restoration shows) before applying primer and color coats? Obviously this amount of hand crafting is not done during initial manufacturing, but is there an advantage to this? Seems a high build sealing primer would make this unnecessary.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
john77
post Feb 22 2017, 04:03 PM
Post #2

Member No.: 17,027
Region Association: Southern California

QUOTE(GeorgeRud @ Feb 22 2017, 01:33 PM) *

As I have no bodywork experience, I wonder if it's standard to completely cover the body with filler, then sand it down (as seen on many of the Velocity Channel restoration shows) before applying primer and color coats? Obviously this amount of hand crafting is not done during initial manufacturing, but is there an advantage to this? Seems a high build sealing primer would make this unnecessary.

My understanding is it comes down to how much money you're willing to spend. You can either pay for hundreds of man hours getting the metal absolutely perfect for paint, or you can get it as near as damnit, do a skim coat of filler and let that take care of the minor imperfections. The 'advantage' depends on who you ask.
+Quote Post
mepstein
post Feb 22 2017, 04:38 PM
Post #3