Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs
 
914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!
 
Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
 

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Stumped, Fuse #8 issues
srreality
post Mar 19 2017, 01:53 PM
Post #1


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 14-July 15
From: Colorado
Member No.: 18,957
Region Association: None



1973 914-4 - - - - My wipers, horn, cigarette lighter and hot air fan won't work. I'm getting no current at fuse #8. I've replaced the wiper switch, checked the ground, cleaned all the connections at the bottom of the steering column and replaced the horn relay, still nada. I'm an amateur at this, especially electrical current flow. My turn signals work, which to me means I'm getting current to/through that switch. But no current out of the wiper switch with the key on and wiper switch on. What am I missing?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
r_towle
post Mar 19 2017, 02:38 PM
Post #2


Custom Member
***************

Group: Members
Posts: 21,819
Joined: 9-January 03
From: Taxachusetts
Member No.: 124
Region Association: North East States



Your wipers don't work?
Does everything else work?
If power goes into the switch and does not come out you need a new switch.
If it goes come out of the switch, test the motor next
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
r_towle
post Mar 19 2017, 02:41 PM
Post #3


Custom Member
***************

Group: Members
Posts: 21,819
Joined: 9-January 03
From: Taxachusetts
Member No.: 124
Region Association: North East States



I re read this OP.
Get a meter to test for power at the top of the fuse at the fuse box first.
Then test the bottom.

Make sure you have power on the circuit coming from the fuse box first.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
srreality
post Mar 19 2017, 03:26 PM
Post #4


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 14-July 15
From: Colorado
Member No.: 18,957
Region Association: None



QUOTE(r_towle @ Mar 19 2017, 02:41 PM) *

I re read this OP.
Get a meter to test for power at the top of the fuse at the fuse box first.
Then test the bottom.

Make sure you have power on the circuit coming from the fuse box first.


I did that - - no power either side of Fuse #8.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
srreality
post Mar 19 2017, 06:13 PM
Post #5


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 14-July 15
From: Colorado
Member No.: 18,957
Region Association: None



After studying the wiring diagram again and reading an old post on here from an owner who had same problem, I'm becoming convinced it's the horn relay. I replaced it with a new one, but since it was cheap and made in China, perhaps it was bad out of the box? How often does that happen?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
r_towle
post Mar 19 2017, 06:20 PM
Post #6


Custom Member
***************

Group: Members
Posts: 21,819
Joined: 9-January 03
From: Taxachusetts
Member No.: 124
Region Association: North East States



There is power at the top of the fuse at the fuse panel.
Pull the panel down and see if one of the feed wires has fallen off.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Valy
post Mar 19 2017, 08:00 PM
Post #7


Senior Member
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,393
Joined: 6-April 10
From: Sunnyvale, CA
Member No.: 11,573
Region Association: Northern California



Check why you have no power at the fuse. Everything else is downstream from there and won't work without power.
If just #8 has no power then there's probably a bad connetion in the fuse box or the terminals are corroded and need some cleaning.
Also, because of al ypur trial and error, I have to ask: How do you measure voltage at the #8 fuse?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
srreality
post Mar 19 2017, 09:24 PM
Post #8


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 14-July 15
From: Colorado
Member No.: 18,957
Region Association: None



QUOTE(Valy @ Mar 19 2017, 08:00 PM) *

Check why you have no power at the fuse. Everything else is downstream from there and won't work without power.
If just #8 has no power then there's probably a bad connetion in the fuse box or the terminals are corroded and need some cleaning.
Also, because of al ypur trial and error, I have to ask: How do you measure voltage at the #8 fuse?


with my handy multimeter. As I read the wiring diagram, the current flows from the switch through the horn relay then through #8 fuse, then out to the wiper motor among other things. If the horn relay is dead, no current flows. Everything that is fed from #8 fuse wont' work either, which is the situation I have.

I'm having my local 914 guru over tomorrow night to help me, so we'll get it solved!


User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tom
post Mar 20 2017, 05:08 AM
Post #9


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,033
Joined: 21-August 05
From: Port Orchard, WA 98367
Member No.: 4,626
Region Association: None



srreality,
The power to fuse #8 comes thru the fresh air relay, J-13. Wiggle it around while the radio is on and see if you get intermittent contact. If so, you will need to clean the contacts of the socket and the prongs on the relay. You can spread the prongs very slightly to help get a good contact.
Tom
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Coloradocurt
post Mar 20 2017, 08:59 AM
Post #10


Newbie
*

Group: Members
Posts: 40
Joined: 20-November 16
From: Castle Rock, Colorado
Member No.: 20,603
Region Association: Rocky Mountains



QUOTE(Tom @ Mar 20 2017, 04:08 AM) *

srreality,
The power to fuse #8 comes thru the fresh air relay, J-13. Wiggle it around while the radio is on and see if you get intermittent contact. If so, you will need to clean the contacts of the socket and the prongs on the relay. You can spread the prongs very slightly to help get a good contact.
Tom


Are you saying/suggesting that the radio also gets power from that J-13 relay?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Tom
post Mar 21 2017, 01:46 AM
Post #11


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,033
Joined: 21-August 05
From: Port Orchard, WA 98367
Member No.: 4,626
Region Association: None



Short answer, yes.
Longer answer, there is no radio listed on the electrical drawings. I believe radio's were a dealer installed option and the easiest way to power the radio would have been off of the cigar ( cigarette ) lighter. That's how mine was wired also.
J-13 would have been better labeled as a power relay for accessories.
Hope this helps explain.
Tom
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
srreality
post Mar 24 2017, 02:41 PM
Post #12


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 14-July 15
From: Colorado
Member No.: 18,957
Region Association: None



QUOTE(Tom @ Mar 20 2017, 05:08 AM) *

srreality,
The power to fuse #8 comes thru the fresh air relay, J-13. Wiggle it around while the radio is on and see if you get intermittent contact. If so, you will need to clean the contacts of the socket and the prongs on the relay. You can spread the prongs very slightly to help get a good contact.
Tom


Thanks, Tom - - - I'm also a Tom...........I tried that just now. No go. I cleaned all the sockets and prongs on the relays attached to the fuse box board while I was there. I'm going to "map" where I get current in those relay sockets. I've checked and cleaned the grounds involved, but so far I remain stumped!!
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
srreality
post Mar 24 2017, 04:19 PM
Post #13


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 52
Joined: 14-July 15
From: Colorado
Member No.: 18,957
Region Association: None



PARTIAL SUCCESS!! Windshield wipers now work perfectly!! Found a prong in my new wiper switch not making contact with it's connector! Ever so slightly off. I hugely relieved that I don't have to change out the wiper motor!! Yet....anyways!

Now for the horns. I know the horn relay works and the parts in the steering wheel are right, so I need to check the connections at the horns and the grounds.

One step closer.............
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Porschef
post Mar 25 2017, 06:06 AM
Post #14


How you doin'
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,237
Joined: 7-September 10
From: LawnGuyland
Member No.: 12,152
Region Association: North East States



Interesting thread, my car has a jumper wire that comes out of the fusebox to feed the same items; while it's been fine for the last six years or so, I'd like to have it wired properly...

And yeah, changing the wiper motor is indeed, a bitch.

(IMG:style_emoticons/default/popcorn[1].gif) (IMG:style_emoticons/default/popcorn[1].gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 25th April 2017 - 12:51 AM