Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Watch out when doing a basic tuneup
shawnhayes
post May 17 2005, 08:35 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 3,065

Ok, so I'm a journeyman mechanic.

I can manage significant work on most vehicles, and bought a 74 914 2.0 as a track car.

Doing a minor tuneup, I've found several pitfalls:

1. There are SEVERAL easy to disconnect wires near the distributor that are easy to accidentally disconnect or damage.

2. It is very difficult to get good lighting to do this work without a corded shoplight.

3. The "tuneup" parts aren't readily available from the local autoparts stores - plan on purchasing them WAY AHEAD of the time you will need them.

Shawn

P.S. - my car was disabled for two months while figuring all this out
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
lapuwali
post May 17 2005, 08:48 PM
Post #2

Not another one!

Group: Benefactors
Member No.: 1,743

Most of the wires near the distributor are grounds or aren't essential to the car running (like the oil pressure switch wire). All brown wires in German cars (well, VW/Porsche, anyway) are grounds. The engine bay wiring isn't all that complex, and familiarizing yourself with a wiring diagram is a very good idea. In a D-Jet car, injectors, air temp sensor, CHT, TPS, MPS, coil wire, alternator field, trigger points, and a handful of grounds are all you need to worry about. On several of these, there are distinct connectors that only go in one place. The AAR and oil pressure switch wires won't cause the car to not run.