Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 930 Porsche short 4-speed transmission question, What about putting a turbo charger on it?
burton73
post Aug 11 2017, 06:18 PM
Post #1

burton73

Group: Members
Member No.: 7,414
Region Association: Southern California

930 Porsche short 4-speed transmission question

Cable shifting.

I have been working on my V8 conversation for 8 years. I have done just a little a bit of work on the body of my car but now I am at the point where I am thinking about the shifter for the trans. The idea was to use a Cable Shift unit from the web for 930. My Transmission is inverted with AN fitting for oil cooling and has the big buck rebuilt done 10 years ago from G- Box. It is just the way it was when I bought ArmyDudes car with it mounted in but never was run. I called G-Box and they say it is good for more that 650HP. I have 930 CVs and 930 Stub axles. I will need axels. PMB did the conversion to the 5 lug and put the rear 911 E brake in. Brakes are from a Boxster rebuilt by rich Johnston. Front suspension is rebuilt from a Carrera. Hydraulic master for Clutch and duel brake masters. I have to install all of this stuff.

So I find my self looking at a number of our member’s cars and seeing what they did with their Transmissions. The Subaru Transmission look easy enough as far as the linkage with a MR2 box. What ideas do our experienced members have on my car and what can they tell me to help guide me in this long project. I would rather buy the linkage than build it but I could build it.