Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Headlight question
cedric9146
post Jan 12 2018, 01:59 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 14,948
Region Association: Europe

Hi guys, need your help !
I'm not a mechanic at all, but want to fix my car myself for once ! (IMG:style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif)

Driver side High beam is not working. All rest is fine. What could it be? (IMG:style_emoticons/default/confused24.gif)
They are sealed beam lamps, so i presume the high and normal driving bulbs are inside, and you can not open it? So need to replace it with a complete new light?
Fuses are ok.

Removed the plastic cover and chrome ring. There is only one big plug connected.
What is the small white wire for?

I have read about replacing them by H4's . Is this just plug and play?

Thanks for the help !

Cedric

Attached thumbnail(s)
Attached Image Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mihai914
post Jan 12 2018, 06:48 AM
Post #2

Member No.: 3,697
Region Association: None

Hi,

The white wire is your power to the high beam. You just need to put it back in the connector and it will most likely work.

If you still have issues, you can try and swap the headlights from side to side just so you’ll know that you’re not dealing with a bad headlight.

Going to H4s is a nice upgrade and not very expensive. Just be sure to buy quality.
+Quote Post
clapeza
post Jan 12 2018, 07:06 AM
Post #3

Member No.: 12,677
Region Association: South East States