Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Carburetor Suggestions
rickso71
post Jun 4 2005, 07:17 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 3,041

I'm new to 914s (although I drove a Beetle for many years) and need some advice on carburetors. THe '71 914 I bought had its FI replaced with a carb although I don't know what kind. it's rebuilt engine is not in the car so I can't tell how it works. I was told the carb is a "no-bowl" variety which is typically used for racing and would not be that great on the street.

What would be a good carburetor/fuel pump for me? I want something for street use and an occasional autocross, decent mileage, and reasonable performance. I do have the old FI parts but 1) they're scattered in several boxes so I don't know what's what, 2) they look pretty grungy. It seems the easier route would be a carburetor.

User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ClayPerrine
post Jun 4 2005, 07:27 AM
Post #2

Life's been good to me so far.....

Group: Admin
Member No.: 1,143
Region Association: NineFourteenerVille

I would suggest that you put the fuel injection back on. If the motor is stock, the FI will work better than any carb you can find.

You can go to Brad Anders web page (search the archives for the link, I don't have it handy), and it will give you and extensive education into the D-Jet injection.

And there are lots of people here willing to help too.

+Quote Post
Brett W
post Jun 4 2005, 07:39 AM
Post #3

Advanced Member

Member No.: 1,169
Region Association: None