Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Collection of 'sensible' improvements
mct
post Jun 23 2018, 07:59 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 20,441
Region Association: Germany

Hi fellow 914 enthusiasts,

I'm a newbie to 914s after having restored numerous T2b Westfalia buses, bugs, Karmann Ghias and Golf !s.
I´d like to compile a list of sensible DIY improvements one can make to the 914's suspension, brakes, tranny, motor and wheels.
Nothing wild & crazy, just plug&play stuff to keep it looking stock but behaving 'better' ;-)
Does anyone have suggestions?

THanks,

Michael
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
ConeDodger
post Jun 23 2018, 08:04 AM
Post #2

Apex killer!

Member No.: 3,380
Region Association: Northern California

Many 914’s came without factory sway bars. The most dramatic improvement I’ve made (besides the 3.2 - 6) was the factory sway bars. You can get by without the rear, but putting the front one makes it a whole different animal.
+Quote Post
914forme
post Jun 23 2018, 08:48 AM
Post #3

Times a wastin', get wrenchin'!

Member No.: 2,388
Region Association: None

Proper Order hear:

Mechanical sorted - brakes working, steering in good shape, engine and trans.

Sway bar - get one, huge difference

Tires, good ones

Shocks, Bilstein or Koni, skip the KYBs or others.

Suspension bushings

Alignment

Brake pads are all you need here and upgrade the everything else should have been fixed in the get the mechanicals in order.

And (IMG:style_emoticons/default/welcome.png)

+Quote Post
flmont