Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs
 
914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!
 
Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
 

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> oil temp sender cover plate torque?
LCOX
post Jul 11 2018, 10:40 AM
Post #1


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 76
Joined: 19-December 09
From: Pinnacle
Member No.: 11,148
Region Association: None



Does anyone know the proper torque on the 2 small 6mm bolts that mount the oil temp sender cover plate to the bottom of the engine case? The plate that has the big red o ring?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Replies(1 - 3)
Dave_Darling
post Jul 11 2018, 01:23 PM
Post #2


914 Idiot
**********

Group: Members
Posts: 13,964
Joined: 9-January 03
From: Silly-con Valley, CA
Member No.: 121
Region Association: Northern California



Very little, on the order of 5-7 lb-ft. Google "torque M6 bolt into aluminum" for more details.

--DD
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
bandjoey
post Jul 11 2018, 01:40 PM
Post #3


bandjoey
****

Group: Members
Posts: 4,450
Joined: 26-September 07
From: Bedford Tx
Member No.: 8,156
Region Association: Southwest Region



(IMG:style_emoticons/default/agree.gif)
The Haynes book is 6 I think. Someone will confirm this soon.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Mark Henry
post Jul 11 2018, 04:03 PM
Post #4


that's what I do!
***************

Group: Members
Posts: 17,226
Joined: 27-December 02
From: Port Hope, Ontario
Member No.: 26
Region Association: Canada



IIRC They're 7.5 ft/lbs or 90 inch pounds.
The 996 has a million M6 screws, all 90in/lbs. OK... I'm exaggerating...but it's a lot. (IMG:style_emoticons/default/smile.gif)

Part of a T4 rebuild I just helicoil those two holes, I'm always finding them stripped out by PO's. If it won't torque up it's stripped.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 14th December 2018 - 04:14 PM