Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> learning something new every day, MPS repair info from those who have done it.
bowzer
post Aug 16 2018, 10:34 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 18,636
Region Association: None

Im looking for info on possibly repairing my MPS, and what better way to gain info than this site.The wealth of knowledge Ive learned on here in a short time is priceless,and fun.everyone likes a short story,so..several years ago I picked up a pretty nice 73 1.7.and with the help of several on here I got it in really good condition,for a driver.Im a Honda-Acura mechanic so I pretty much know my way around most related issues.after several years of ownership,I got the idea that a 2.0 would be a sweet swap from the 1.7.problem that I found was that most had been changed to carb.fast forward,I was just browsing this site and came across a complete 2.0 with the F I intact.The sellers description was that it was a strong,non smoking engine,so i jumped on it.It was a pretty enjoyable swap,super easy as everything fell in place, and it fired right up to boot.so a couple weeks ago,on the hottest day in Olympia I drove it home.The hp bump was just enough to make me feel that I made the right decision,except for slight hesitation that I attributed to just needing some tweaking.come to find out that the 1.7 MPS is not compatible with the 1976 2.0 system.I didnt even really know what that grernady looking thing was really.The seller of the 2.0 sent me the correct sensor.I got it yesterday,sucked thru it and wouldnt you know,no vacuum.so....couple of questions.thi