Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Need a crash course on Solex Carbs, Easy responses!! Emissions results here
ninefourteener
post Jun 24 2005, 07:04 AM
Post #1

Perfectly Normal Guy :)

Group: Members
Member No.: 779

Ok folks..... these aren't quadrajets, Carter AFBs, or Holly's..... so I'm FAR from an expert on Solex Carbs. So hopefully, someone might know some easy tricks/adjustments to get this damn thing through emissions so far.

The 914 club was down yesterday, for far more important reasons....... and my heart goes out to ^Easton^ and his family.

So..... I found this website..... and adjusted my mixture screws as it said to do:

http://www.356registry.org/Tech/solex.html

What I've done, is adjusted all 4 mixture screws (2 carbs, #16 on the diagram) as far is as I could get them to lean out the mixture. The car ran great before, now its running really rough, and the idle is EXTREMELY low (like 3 or 400 RPMs).

I'm headed to the testing station today on my lunchbreak. If it passes, I'm tuning them back the way they were. If it DOES NOT pass....... I'd like to adjust them right out in the parking lot... and drive it through again.

Last time I tested, these were the results of my last emissions test:

Hydrocarbons (PPM) Carbon Monoxide (%)
Standards 800 8.0
Readings 3877 4.6
Result FAIL PASS

If adjusting the mixture screws lean doesn't work....... What's next???

Thanks for all the help in advance!!

Matt

Attached image(s)
Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
Replies(1 - 15)
ninefourteener