Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs
 
914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!
 
Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
 

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

> Amp wiring question, need a ruling from the braintrust
bbrock
post Feb 11 2020, 09:29 PM
Post #1


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 3,492
Joined: 17-February 17
From: Montana
Member No.: 20,845
Region Association: Rocky Mountains



I've been researching 4-channel amps to power my speaker pods and a small sub. Kenwood is not really a brand I gravitate toward but this amp has caught my eye for several reasons and gets rave reviews. https://www.crutchfield.com/p_113KACM3K4/Ke...4.html?tp=35782

An unexpected bonus is that it uses only a 10 gauge power wire and draws just 22 amps. That's within limits the stock harness and fuse block can handle, particularly given that I'll be running all LED lights which will cut down on current draw. Eliminating the hassle of fishing a fat wire through the harness snorkel to connect directly to the battery is appealing. What do you electrically savy folks think?
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
Replies
bbrock
post Feb 12 2020, 05:33 PM
Post #2


Advanced Member
****

Group: Members
Posts: 3,492
Joined: 17-February 17
From: Montana
Member No.: 20,845
Region Association: Rocky Mountains



Hi Bob,

Do you happen to know what size wire that is? The amp I've settled on requires 8 gauge. Ideally, I would have run the wire when I had the harness out of the car, but I wasn't ready to choose an amp when it was time to put the harness back in. Not knowing what size wire I would need, I put it off to do it the hard way. Shouldn't be too bad though.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
burton73
post Feb 12 2020, 06:43 PM
Post #3


burton73
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,590
Joined: 2-January 07
From: Los Angeles
Member No.: 7,414
Region Association: Southern California



QUOTE(bbrock @ Feb 12 2020, 03:33 PM) *

Hi Bob,

Do you happen to know what size wire that is? The amp I've settled on requires 8 gauge. Ideally, I would have run the wire when I had the harness out of the car, but I wasn't ready to choose an amp when it was time to put the harness back in. Not knowing what size wire I would need, I put it off to do it the hard way. Shouldn't be too bad though.



Not sure bud but you can guess by looking at the factory wire in loom or shoot E @ PMB a message.

Bob
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Posts in this topic


Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 8th July 2020 - 09:23 AM