Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Engine build, Need advice
Morph914
post Mar 1 2021, 08:27 PM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 20,326
Region Association: South East States

I am new to the air cooled world so I need to lean on the experts for advice. As you can see, I have the engine on a stand with the 4 arm support. I was skeptical from the get go about this support, it does not seem to give enough support to the engine in my opinion. But what do I know?
My concern here is how much more weight can I put on this engine before pulling it off the stand? I do not have a cherry picker so just 2 guys lifting it off onto a HF hydraulic lift.
Should I get all the tin on then remove? Or would you install the alternator, intake, etc.?
And is there anything underneath that needs to be accomplished before taking off the stand?

Thanks in advance,
John

Attached Image

Attached Image
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
mepstein
post Mar 1 2021, 08:31 PM
Post #2

914-6 GT in waiting

Member No.: 10,825
Region Association: MidAtlantic Region

I use the same stand for my 450 lb 3.2 six.

You can always put a stool or small table under it if you are afraid of it tipping while you work on it but a type 4 weighs 250 with induction and exhaust so it’s really not that much weight. Each bolt is holding 60 ish lbs.

The heat exchangers are so much easer to put on now.
User is online!Profile CardPM
+Quote Post
Morph914
post Mar 1 2021, 09:12 PM
Post #3

QUOTE(mepstein @ Mar 1 2021, 09:31 PM) *