Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

2 Pages V  1 2 >  
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Ninja tips: AC systems
technicalninja
post Mar 24 2023, 07:32 AM
Post #1

Group: Members
Member No.: 27,135
Region Association: Southwest Region

This thread is my base AC thread for suggestions, questions, whatever...

I run
https://granburyautoac.com/

I specialize in automotive heat and air conditioning systems.

I've been doing AC work since 1983 and have seen all of the changes, good and bad, that have occurred over the last 40 years.

I'm keeping the first post short as they always show up at the top of each page and if long, they clutter up the thread...
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
technicalninja
post Mar 24 2023, 07:45 AM
Post #2

1st tip and this might be the single most important...

DO NOT purchase any R134a that has anything in it!!

You want the cheap stuff! No AC pro, no easy fill cans, look to the low side of the refrigerant display to find the R134a that is just R134a.

It is perfectly fine to buy this at Walmart. R134a is a chemical and doesn't need fancy labels.

Most of what available at the parts houses has both oil and sealant in it...

The oil doesn't bother me that badly, but the sealant does.

I've never seen it fix a leak, but I've seen too much of it TRASH entire systems.

All of my recycling machines state in the very first sentence of the warranty section

"Any sealants found in the machine void all warranties".

The sealant crap can be the death of your system. Avoid at all costs!!!!