Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> welding stainless with a 120v Lincoln MIG machine
VaccaRabite
post Mar 30 2023, 12:23 PM
Post #1

En Garde!

Group: Admin
Member No.: 1,435
Region Association: MidAtlantic Region

Yes, I know people prefer to TIG stainless. I don't have that. I have the same 120v Lincoln welder that I have been using for the past 15 years.

I also have a set of SSIs that I can practice on and maybe repair before getting to the main task of adding an 02 bung to a different set of SSI pipes.

So, what's the process? Gas mix? Obviously it needs to be really clean. Any specific filler spools I should be looking at?

Zach
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
Root_Werks
post Mar 30 2023, 02:14 PM
Post #2

Village Idiot

Group: Members
Member No.: 2,105
Region Association: Pacific Northwest

I recently went through this with my 120V Mig. It requires the wire and different bottle. Totally forget the type of gas, but it worked great. I'll probably never use it again, but it was neat to weld SS.

(IMG:style_emoticons/default/welder.gif)
+Quote Post
914_teener
post Mar 30 2023, 02:34 PM
Post #3

914 Guru

Member No.: 9,489
Region Association: Southern California

stainless for the wire of course and "tri mix". Helium, Argon...and the slightly oxidizing C02.