Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Engine stand questions
Richard Casto
post Feb 15 2006, 03:55 PM
Post #1

Blue Sky Motorsports, LLC

Group: Members
Member No.: 4,523
Region Association: South East States

I am dismantling two Type IV engines that was part of the parts stash that came with my car when I purchased it. I am at the point that I would like to put the engine on an engine stand. Also at some point I expect to have a 3.2 six on a stand. I have never used one before and I need some tips…

1. I was looking at buying a Harbor Freight version. If I remember correctly they have 750, 1000 and 2000 lbs versions. Anyone have experience with these? The 1000 is only a bit more than the 750 version, but the 2000 version is about twice as much as the 2000. Any reason to not just by the 1000 lbs version?

http://www.harborfreight.com/cpi/ctaf/disp...temnumber=32916

2. I assume that an adapter like they sell on PP is needed.

http://www.pelicanparts.com/catalog/images...and-mainely.jpg

The PP adapter seems a bit pricy at $155? Alternatives? Other sources? Anyone want to sell me one cheap?

3. How in the hell do you lift the engine up onto the stand once it is mounted to the adapter? Do you use an engine lift, crib up stuff and jack it up (sounds risky), two or three strong friends lift it into place, any of the above? One of the two is to the point that it is just a case that needs to be split and I can lift that. The other is a long block and I can’t lift that by myself.

Thanks,

Richard
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post