Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> Decisions, decisions, I'd pull out my hair if I weren't bald
BigDBass
post Mar 8 2006, 07:58 PM
Post #1

Dumb Question Champion

Group: Members
Member No.: 5,405
Region Association: Upper MidWest

I've been shopping for a few months now for my first 914. I'm looking for a driver that I can get on the road as soon as Chicago weather permits. I'd love to give autocross etc a shot eventually, but I suspect that that's quite a ways down the road. I have no experience working on cars but am willing to learn and understand I'll have to.

Several weeks ago I took a ride to 914 Ltd/Brad Mayeur's place to look at a Malaga Red '75 1.8 that he is selling for another customer. The price is $2500 firm. This car was listed in the classifieds here but has expired and been deleted.

I've been debating about this car for awhile now, mainly because I wanted to check out some other cars to compare, but there is not a lot to be found around Chicago. I've seen some cars that appeared decent on ebay and Collector Car Trader, but nothing in the Chicago area and I'm hesitant to go through those routes. I'm not sure if I'd be better off paying $1000-1500 to have a car shipped rather than put that money into this car. I believe (as does Brad) that this car is about as good as I would find in the area in my price range, and it seems to me that buying from Brad would be a good move.

Some photos are available here: Photos