Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs

914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!

Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

Reply to this topicStart new topic
> 74 2L FI Engine Runs but Misses Under light load, Suggestions?
Spoke
post May 20 2006, 05:43 AM
Post #1

Jerry

Group: Members
Member No.: 3,031
Region Association: None

The honeymoon is over with my new 74 914. Sorta. It still runs but has a noticable miss at low loads. It runs through the RPM range nicely and accelerates fine, but has the low load, throttle barely opened miss. I'm new to the 2L FI engine so suggestions welcomed (ie., needed).

About 3 weeks ago about once every 3-4 days of daily driving, under light load, 5th gear, 2500 RPM, the engine momentarily hick-uped, then ran smooth.

About 2 weeks ago, the hick-ups became about once a day, under light loads, noticed mostly in 4th and 5th gears, 2-3K RPM.

This week on Thursday, on the way to work, the misses became very apparent, again, only under light loads.

Yesterday, for starters, I inspected the points, cap, and rotor; nothing unusual. Until I replaced the rotor cap. To make sure I had it on correctly, I wiggled the cap and the entire distributor moved. It was snug where it was but not tight, easily twisted by hand.

So I removed the distributor, changed points, rotor, cap, plugs, refurbished the distributor locking strap. Not sure I timed it right as I now hear slight pinging under acceleration. I'll re-time again today. But the missing under light loads is still there.

Visual inspection of vaccuum hoses & wires looks ok. Will do the carb cleaner on hoses to check for vaccuum leaks today.

What should I check next???

Thanks in Advance,
Spoke