Home  |  Forums  |  914 Info  |  Blogs
 
914World.com - The fastest growing online 914 community!
 
Porsche, and the Porsche crest are registered trademarks of Dr. Ing. h.c. F. Porsche AG. This site is not affiliated with Porsche in any way.
Its only purpose is to provide an online forum for car enthusiasts. All other trademarks are property of their respective owners.
 

Welcome Guest ( Log In | Register )

 
Reply to this topicStart new topic
> WOT - Now i have a SQL Server Question, for the love of god help....
drewvw
post Mar 27 2007, 03:11 PM
Post #1


new england car guy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,631
Joined: 24-February 06
From: Boston, MA
Member No.: 5,630
Region Association: North East States



OK...in the spirit of SQL questions being answered the last couple days, i have one that i could REALLY USE SOME HELP WITH.

I am about to tear my hair out here.


In a basic explanation, we are trying to setup a test environment for an application I am building. There are some existing Stored Procedures and they reference a linked server to do some of the work.

For Example:

the stored procs reference dbname.dbo.table where "dbname" is a linked server.


For the test environment, we want to create a linked server by the same name, only it points to the test db on another server "testname" that is exactly the same as production. So do avoid having to change all the names in the stored proc


The problem is we get all kinds of DTC errors depending on what options we try, but they are basically all like "cannot find 'dbname' in syslinks" or "cannot start Distributed Transaction."

its driving me crazy...can anybody give me a link or a step by step on how to do what i am describing above. PLEASE...



drew
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
blitZ
post Mar 27 2007, 03:32 PM
Post #2


Beer please...
****

Group: Members
Posts: 2,223
Joined: 31-August 05
From: Lawrenceville, GA
Member No.: 4,719
Region Association: South East States



You can always create a vew, which selects a linked table. This would be helpful transitioning from development to production environments. Create the view with same name in both environments which point to the corresponding linked table, dev or prod. In SQL 7 and later, you can do inserts, updates and selects on views.

CREATE VIEW viewName
AS
Select *
from linkedtabe
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SirAndy
post Mar 27 2007, 03:41 PM
Post #3


Resident German
*************************

Group: Admin
Posts: 41,641
Joined: 21-January 03
From: Oakland, Kalifornia
Member No.: 179
Region Association: Northern California



QUOTE(drewvw @ Mar 27 2007, 01:11 PM) *

can anybody give me a link or a step by step on how to do what i am describing above.


sounds more like a DNS/network issue ...

is the target server is available on the network under the same name as used in the SP?
is your dev network connected to the live network? if so, you need to make sure that your SQL setup points to the correct linked SQL server ...

can you access the linked server directly using a ODBC DSN?
(IMG:style_emoticons/default/idea.gif) Andy
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
drewvw
post Mar 27 2007, 03:42 PM
Post #4


new england car guy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,631
Joined: 24-February 06
From: Boston, MA
Member No.: 5,630
Region Association: North East States



QUOTE(blitZ @ Mar 27 2007, 02:32 PM) *

You can always create a vew, which selects a linked table. This would be helpful transitioning from development to production environments. Create the view with same name in both environments which point to the corresponding linked table, dev or prod. In SQL 7 and later, you can do inserts, updates and selects on views.

CREATE VIEW viewName
AS
Select *
from linkedtabe



right....but that doesn't help in this case because essentially the SPs are already referencing views in many cases, which do just what suggested.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
drewvw
post Mar 27 2007, 03:47 PM
Post #5


new england car guy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,631
Joined: 24-February 06
From: Boston, MA
Member No.: 5,630
Region Association: North East States



QUOTE(SirAndy @ Mar 27 2007, 02:41 PM) *


is the target server is available on the network under the same name as used in the SP?



yes it is, however no links in the test db reference it

QUOTE(SirAndy @ Mar 27 2007, 02:41 PM) *


is your dev network connected to the live network? if so, you need to make sure that your SQL setup points to the correct linked SQL server ...

can you access the linked server directly using a ODBC DSN?



I will pass that on to the DBA, but we are able to access tables via Query Analyzer.

local statements work fine too...its just when you try to ref the Linked Server


i appreciate the input from everyone, today has sucked.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
SirAndy
post Mar 27 2007, 03:58 PM
Post #6


Resident German
*************************

Group: Admin
Posts: 41,641
Joined: 21-January 03
From: Oakland, Kalifornia
Member No.: 179
Region Association: Northern California



does the linked server run on a non-standard port? (IMG:style_emoticons/default/idea.gif)

i *always* use a port other than 1433 for production SQL servers, even if they're not in the open and firewalled.

if so, it could be that it's missing a setting and tries to access it through the standard port ...

just blurting out stuff ...
(IMG:style_emoticons/default/biggrin.gif) Andy
User is online!Profile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
sjhowitson
post Mar 27 2007, 04:19 PM
Post #7


Member
**

Group: Members
Posts: 478
Joined: 4-August 04
From: Moraga, CA
Member No.: 2,449



(IMG:style_emoticons/default/popcorn[1].gif)
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post
drewvw
post Mar 27 2007, 08:08 PM
Post #8


new england car guy
***

Group: Members
Posts: 1,631
Joined: 24-February 06
From: Boston, MA
Member No.: 5,630
Region Association: North East States




I'm back..sorry fighting a cold i had to rest for a bit.


i appreciate the blurting im sending along everything you guys are saying to the DBA.

I am going to try a couple more things ill get back to you.
User is offlineProfile CardPM
Go to the top of the page
+Quote Post

Reply to this topicStart new topic
1 User(s) are reading this topic (1 Guests and 0 Anonymous Users)
0 Members:

 



- Lo-Fi Version Time is now: 17th May 2024 - 08:38 PM