Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: High oil pressures when cold...
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jcwells
Hello, all...

I'm new to the 914 scene, but have been having a blast reading up on all of the information that is available here at 914world!

I just got my 914 about six weeks ago (details in my signature), and have been able to get answers to a bunch of my questions by pounding on the search button. But here is one that I haven't been able to figure out on my own.

The car is currently running on Brad Penn 20W50 oil, which is highly recommended by Jake Raby and others. Here on the Front Range in Colorado, as the weather has started getting a lot cooler, I've noticed that my oil pressures are quite a bit higher than in warmer conditions. Specifically, with ambient temperatures between 30 and 40 deg, I'm getting better than 120 psi oil pressure at 2500-3000 rpm after running for several minutes. As the oil warms (15 minute commute), it drops to a bit below 100 psi at the same revs. I've got a very efficient front mounted oil cooler, and my oil temperatures rarely get to much more than 200 deg in warm weather, and was maybe 120 deg this morning at the end of my commute. In hot weather, my pressure is just a bit more than 20 psi at idle after extended running, but better than 40 psi after my commute this morning.

Couple of questions:

1. Are my hot weather oil pressures somewhat normal?
2. Are my cooler weather oil pressures too high?
3. Should I switch to the Brad Penn 10W40 now that the weather is cooler?

Go easy on me, I'm a noob... smile.gif

SLITS
Recommened oil temp is about 210 degrees for maximum oil effeciency.

Not sure about the type 4 relief valves, but 80 psig is what I would expect on cold startup. Maybe the relief valves are a bit sticky. Maybe you have high pressure springs in the relief valves. Maybe you just have a really nice engine, with excellent clearances.