Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Dr. Evil may have given me a disease!
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2
Mark Henry
In one weekend the Doc totally demistfied the 901 transmission and manual transmissions in general.
Because the only transmission I've ever taken a peek at was the aircooled VW, I've been scared of tranny's like a little girly-man.
I'm not an expert yet, but I hope Mike would say I'm compitaint.

I have 2 transmissions built from the clinic, plus enough spares to build a another 901 if I had another core.
In this pic, if you look at top 1/3, center, you can see (on the pegboard hook) dog teeth, 1st sliders, sider and a few bands. Nice score.

2nd pic is the 911 901 that the Doc built as a demonstrator, same thing as a 914, just a bit different on the nose cone and selector.
Mark Henry
This is my new undertaking. Ooooooohhhhh.....that bad and scary Type 1 transmission!!!!!!

First I was always told this is one of the hardest transmissions to learn on.
I should have taken that to heart and tried a easier transmission (like the 901) to learn on.
Now at least I know what the fuching thing is doing! I've been reading (a lot) and it makes sense now.
The VW is harder than the 901 and it requires a few more tools, plus a small press.
Mark Henry
Man do I have spares in my stash, this is going to sound sick but syncro's are only like $15- $20 each, but I have over 30 NOS sets. Plus many new gears and hubs.
Doc found an NOS 901 first gear slider in this mess, Then told me I have horseshoes up my orifice.
I've been sitting on this shit for 20 years!

Mark Henry
This stuff I had (before I grew a pair) bearings for the stack, a solid 4th gear spacer and a swing axle poor man posi kit, all high performance goodies from Gene Berg

I'm also soon going to tear into a swingaxle, because my bus tranny sounds like it's getting loose and needs some beefing. The 2.0 Berg engine is a bit hard on it.