Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Alloy wheel widening ...
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
SirAndy
guys, i ran that question already on roadglue a while ago,
i'm looking for a shop to widen my 7x15 alloy "cookie cutter" wheels to 8x15 and 9x15.
a local (greater bay area) shop is preffered (no shipping) but if you have any out of state recommendation, bring em on.

anybody here ever had alloy wheels widened?
how is the quality?
are they strong enough for club racing/auto-x?

what i have so far:

Stockton Wheel http://www.stocktonwheel.com/ does STEEL only sad.gif

Kelley's Custom Wheel Service
1725 N. Report Ave
Stockton, Ca 95205
209.547.9245 - Fax
they quoted $110 per wheel. not bad! do they have a web-site ???

your feedback is very welcome ...
Andy
Jeroen
I'm no expert on this (nor do I play one on TV), but...

From what I heard, you can't weld cast alloys
(Cookie cutters are cast aren't they?)
The weld itself will be strong, but the surrounding material becomes brittle

I have found a company in "der Heimat" that widens (forged) Fuchs wheels (with TüV)
but that's of little help to ya now biggrin.gif

cheers,

Jeroen
SirAndy
QUOTE(Jeroen @ Apr 3 2003, 11:55 AM)
I'm no expert on this (nor do I play one on TV), but...

From what I heard, you can't weld cast alloys
(Cookie cutters are cast aren't they?)
The weld itself will be strong, but the surrounding material becomes brittle

hmmm, i looked around a little bit and i couldn't find any info about differences in welding for "forged alloy" versus "cast alloy".
anyone here who has any insights?
Mueller
The Vipers have cast wheels....the rear wheels are basicly fronts that have been widened by welding.

I too thought of going this route, but I feel that I'd just rather have a brand new unmolested rim for better piece of mind.

According to JP smash.gif , cast materials are better to weld than forged...correct me if I'm wrong here JP
Joseph Mills
Andy,