Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: What to do?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
TeenerTim
2009 has been a bitch of a year for me but I'm sure many people have it worse. At the start of the year the family courts increased my child support payments by an additional $1,000 a month. All progress on the 914 came to screeching halt. The good news is that the contract job I've been working for the last three years became permanent two weeks ago. The bad news is I had to take a $24,000 a year pay cut and I have to make some major changes. I will have to sell the car I am making payments on and get a paid for daily driver.

Like many here I have way more money in the car than it's worth and it's not close to being drivable. The car is a 1970 914-4 1.7L with 91,000 original miles and very little structural rust. It has lots of surface rust on the body so it looks like hell. I started with the suspension and have replaced every component. I have the 911 struts with the 5-lug hubs and vented rotors and Eric's rear 5-lug hubs. New sport torsion bars in front and springs in rear. Turbo tie rods, front ant-sway bar, new ball joints, and delrin bushings everywhere. I also have new vented and cross-drilled rotors at all four corners and rebuilt M calipers in the front. Stainless steel brake lines, 19mm master cylinder, and new wheel bearings all the way around. I have all four new Koni yellow sport struts/shocks. And finally I have 5 spoke Fuchs replicas and new Falken tires. To get the car off the jack stands I need to get the rear trailing arms rebuilt and to get the brakes finished I need the rear calipers rebuilt with Eric's vented rotors adapters.