Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Trouble shooting a 2.2 / 6 cyl
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
drew5785
I've recently swapped the motor on my 914 from a 1.7-4 to a 2.2-6cyl. This is my first porsche so I'm not an expert. Let me explain my problem:
I've swapped the motor, hooked up all the wires and plumbing. But it wont start. I've worked on other cars before so I've gone through the basics. Its getting gas, it turns over fine, and seems to be getting plenty of spark. But no bang. My only thought is that the timing is off. I've heard that you have to crank the motor tell the notch in the front pulley is at 12:00 then check that the rotor is pointing to the number one wire.
Anyone thats worked on a 914-6 knows how impossible it is to really work on the front pulley. From what I can tell the timing is right too. Anyone have any tips or ideas. I dont want to give in and take it to a thief...I mean mechanic.

Click to view attachment
oldschool
QUOTE(drew5785 @ Jan 27 2010, 10:05 PM) *

I've recently swapped the motor on my 914 from a 1.7-4 to a 2.2-6cyl. This is my first porsche so I'm not an expert. Let me explain my problem:
I've swapped the motor, hooked up all the wires and plumbing. But it wont start. I've worked on other cars before so I've gone through the basics. Its getting gas, it turns over fine, and seems to be getting plenty of spark. But no bang. My only thought is that the timing is off. I've heard that you have to crank the motor tell the notch in the front pulley is at 12:00 then check that the rotor is pointing to the number one wire.
Anyone thats worked on a 914-6 knows how impossible it is to really work on the front pulley. From what I can tell the timing is right too. Anyone have any tips or ideas. I dont want to give in and take it to a thief...I mean mechanic. Click to view attachment