Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Shock questions-Bilstein or KYB?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
jcambo7
I am wondering if Bilstein's are adjustable or not. A question for people that AX and drive their AX cars on the street-What shocks would you reccomend that are adjustable to use on road and during AX's?
Thanks
rfuerst911sc
I'm no shock expert but here's what I think I know biggrin.gif .
1. KYB = Kill Your Back they are basically junk.
2.Boge are/were OEM and not bad but not adjustable.
3.Bilstein are excellent quality but not adjustable. You can send them back to Bilstein and for a fee they will custom valve for your particuliar car setup. They are height adjustable by moving spring perches on adjustable clips.
4. Koni are also excellent quality and are adjustable but if we're talking rear shocks to adjust them they have to be removed from the car each time to adjust.
5. Aftermarket there are all kinds of specialty shocks that can be purchased with external adjustable knobs.

Hope this helps.
SGB
Bilstein's are a great balence between sports and comfort. I have 'em on all my cars.
tradisrad
I've got Bilsteins on all 4 corners. The rears have adjustable spring perches and Rebel Racing make a coil over that increases the adjustability of the spring perch. http://www.rebelracingproducts.com/Suspension/Steering.html
I like the shocks and the car handles great. I must say that I also have Elephant Bushings and mono balls and I think the bushing really help improve the ride.
dr914@autoatlanta.com
I have bilsteins on all of my cars. They are the best. (the only problem is affordability. They are a keep your car forever shock.
rfuerst911sc
Another place to buy rear adjustable spring kit : http://www.ground-control-store.com/produc...ption.php/II=76
Eric_Shea
Decisions, decisions... they're both great!

No wait... one of them is crap. I won't mention any names but the initials KYB come to mind.

Bilsteins, Koni or new Boge Sports.