Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 250# boingers - going in tonight! Uh, maybe....
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Joseph Mills
A kind member of this board sent some 250# springs for my pushing Porscheee. Will it be too much? I can't wait to find out. I'd sure LOVE to be able to play with my "adjustable" front sway bar (instead of leaving it on total soft all the time).

I've never done this before. What am I getting into? Do I need any special tools? I've got a six-pack and a friend coming over to help.

It looks like I need to (along with stoopid questions):

Remove the nut at the top of the shock.
Remove the big nut on the outside of the suspension arm (how do I keep the bolt from spinning?)
Slide, or hammer (?) the bolt out from the shock.
Do I need to remove the CV joint?
Drop the shock down and slide the spring up and off (or is there a top retainer?)

Yup. I definitely need some ADVICE! confused24.gif Please stand by this evening, you may need to talk me down.

The sixer will be opened after the tool boxes are closed.... drunk.gif
Mueller
loosen (but, keep it on) the top nut, you might have to use a large pair of pliers (a pipe wrench works)

remove the bolt that holds the shock to the trailing arm...(adjustable wrench for the flats), not sure what size nut, (27mm???)

now remove the top nut, shock assy should fall down.....

i've replaced 140 and 180 springs with no spring compressor other than me holding the spring while the assy is in a vise, stock springs are much, much longer and do require more thought....
brant
Joseph,

I can't remember from when we spoke... Is your car a -4?

Its an easy job really.
and 250 can be a very good weight for a 4 racer depending upon your front rates.

The springs could change your rideheight.. and thus rear camber... so carefully measure your before heights and reset it exactly when you are done... (before the beer)..

if you don't have the adjustable spring collar then do an alignment...