Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: new here
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Pages: 1, 2
sixers34926
this is probably a dumb question but do the spark plug wires have to be plugged in to the distributor at a certain spot? and if so what would be the order? I'm brand new to the 914. Well actually brand new to all cars the 914 i recently inherited will be my first car!! so any help would be appreciated pray.gif
rick 918-S
The engine tin is marked next to the cylinders. With the piston #1 at top dead center, remove the dizzy cap and check to see which terminal the rotor is pointing at. That will be your #1 cylinder. Clock wise connect the wires 1-4-3-2.

And welcome.png
sixers34926
QUOTE(rick 918-S @ Feb 27 2010, 11:12 PM) *

The engine tin is marked next to the cylinders. With the piston #1 at top dead center, remove the dizzy cap and check to see which terminal the rotor is pointing at. That will be your #1 cylinder. Clock wise connect the wires 1-4-3-2.

And welcome.png

thanks rick that was much simpler than i expected! will this solve my problem of when i drive it it feels like its studdering when i press on the gas? the wires were definately not in the right places
bugsy0
Nicely explained! the fellers on this forum are very good people - thank you all
rick 918-S
You may have a wire crossed. There are a lot smarter guys on this forum than I. I just happen to be surfing. Let us know if you get it sorted.
sixers34926
QUOTE(rick 918-S @ Feb 27 2010, 11:26 PM) *

You may have a wire crossed. There are a lot smarter guys on this forum than I. I just happen to be surfing. Let us know if you get it sorted.

i will update my progress as i go sawzall-smiley.gif thanks rick
sixers34926
ok i put the spark plugs in the right place but now the car wont even start. is there a new adjustment i have to make now that the wires are right?
sixers34926
anyone have any idea why my car wont start all of a sudden??
underthetire