Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: One of the reasons I've been so Busy - Visor clips
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Mikey914
I've been playing around with these for awhile (almost 4 months) and with everythig else on my plate didn't want to start another pre purchase sale for an item that I didn't know if it could ship with others (timing). You can sign up here or I will allow you the option to combine with any other prepurchase items taht are running (form letters will be going out late this evening)

Here's the details on these

The ends are available from Porsche, they are a superceeded part number for the 964. about $54 each. The rub, they are not textured like the original 914 ones. Kind of minor but for that kind of cash I want something that matches.

So I reporduced these with the same texture as OEM started with.

The other issue is the pins. The OEM ones where chromed steel. They rusted after the chrome was breached. Not a big deal, but why not improve it?

Mine are machined stainless, no rust. They're shiny, and I don't think you'ld even notice once installed.

The other issue is cracking. While the plastic isn't very thick, the factory ones have a void behind them. It uses less material to make them that way. Mine are solid. The thought was as a solid part would be less points.

The pins are cast into the parts and I did do this to the center part.

These will start shipping late next week (Thursday or Friday).

Let me know if you need them.
Mikey914
Texture
dr914@autoatlanta.com
excellent work! Although we have had the repro clips for several years now, it is nice to see someone so thorough as to make them with the pins included!!!! Congrats. What a tremendous asset to this community. So glad Mikey is a mulit millionaire, because he is CERTAINLY not making any money on these parts but rather doing it as a donation! We know how expensive it is to develop small quantity runs of parts!