Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Oi My 73 2.0 is needing love and info
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
avidfanjpl
I have a 73 914 and I need to find the ballast resistor to check it. Is it in the plastic casing where the spade connector is?

Also, I am just learning how to tune it, as it sat for 6 months while I completed all the fuel pump hose replacements.

I know the FPR should be at 29psig

What is a good setting for the points? plugs and dwell/timing?

The car is running really rich. All the MPS/ECU and harnesses check out electrically

I am replacing all the relays as the cheap ones from China expand and go dead when the engine warms up.

I do most of my own work and just bought a timing light, dwell meter, fuel pressure gauge and vacuum gauge.

I have a vacuum leak where the decel valve goes into the MPS, but it is not terrible.

I know the FPR has to be set, but could that be the major reason for the rich when hot reaction?

Also, do I need a flow meter for the throttle body to get this really idling and running more to a lean side?

I am way out of whack, but it runs and needs wise TLC.

Just joined!

This is my 6th 914 2.0, but I never did tuneups. Have rebuilt several short blocks, but always left the adjustments to others. Now the costs are too high and I really should know this stuff better.

Thanks, any who respond!

JPL
rebelmdot
Most of everything you described is beyond my wrench right now, but glad to see that you are on number 6 and I am sure it will be purring in no time. The masters will chime in here shortly and you will be well informed I promise.

welcome.png
TheCabinetmaker
If you have a ballast resistor, it will be inline with the CHT.

Point gap is set at .017, but is only a starting place. Fine tune with dwell meter to 46 (+/- 4)degrees. Then adjust timing. Remove and plug both vacuum hoses at distributor, then set according to spec (27dbtdc).