Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 911 front suspension swap Question...
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
hsus2k
Hi Newbie here!
I have heard people upgrade their 914 front suspension with eailer 911 suspension, but how much of it do I swap?
Just the (2) A-arms with torsion bars? or do I need the Aluminum cross member to mount the A-arms to? or Can I mount the 911 A-arms to the 914 cross member? Do I need the 911 Spindles? Or will the 914 spindle will fit the 911 A_Arms? Anything else (yes, I'll be going with 5 lug pattern wheels later, then I guess the 911 Spindle s are must?).

Just how similar are between the 914 and the 911? (front suspensions?)
Also, are there much differences between the 911 models itself from 74 thru 89?

I've also bought a tow bar bracket for the 914. Could I also use it for towing an earlier 911 as well. Are the cross member the same width between the 914 & 911?

I'm currently trying to remove all the rust on the body of the car. Stripping most of the components and old stuff off as well.
Planning to build a daily drive, but weekend track car. Not looking to restore it back to original. Already build the engine from 1.8 to 2 liter (but not sure I have all the 2 liter sheet metal and parts?), and thinking of dropping a larger motor (may be a Subaru turbo, or a Porsche 6? Subie is looking to be more affordable)
So, right now, I'm prepare the body; looking for better and stiff suspension and brakes.
Also looked at a roll cage, then figure what I need for the power and transmission choice.

Thanks!

Root_Werks
My head hurts thinking of all the possible combo's you could use.

To sum it up:

Yup, 911 "stuff" bolts right up to 914 unibody. Now for the thousand+ caveats: