Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Any spark-plug readers in the house?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
SirAndy
Do these look OK?

I haven't been reading spark-plugs since my dirt bike racing days.
On my bike, those would have indicated a slight lean condition. idea.gif

What about a 993 3.6L motor? Still too lean? Or OK?
confused24.gif Andy
TC 914-8
Although I am far from an expert on FI engines They look lean to me
Here's a Link
http://www.verrill.com/moto/sellingguide/s...gcolorchart.htm

One other concern There is only 10 ?
confused24.gif
Jeffs9146
If it was my motor I would not be upset!! Maybe a bit on the lean side but not too bad! How many miles??
SirAndy
QUOTE(TC 914-8 @ Apr 10 2010, 08:05 PM) *

One other concern There is only 10 ?

Yo. I know that ... biggrin.gif

Two of the lower ones on the passenger side can only be removed with the engine dropped down about 2 or 3 inches. I'm going to do that next weekend, i ran out of time today.
shades.gif Andy
SirAndy
QUOTE(Jeffs9146 @ Apr 10 2010, 08:22 PM) *

If it was my motor I would not be upset!! Maybe a bit on the lean side but not too bad! How many miles??

On the old plugs? No idea.

I actually never had them out. They were in there when i bought the motor, i just fired it up and it ran.
biggrin.gif Andy
Jeffs9146
Notice the darker tips, I think that is a good thing! Have you run it on a sniffer?

PS: Those are not cheep plugs!!
McMark
Check you distributor caps next time as well. wink.gif
TC 914-8
Here's an Idea, that won't cost too much. Being in Kalifornia, Stop by a smog test place (pass or don't pay) have them throw a sniffer up the tail and give you a reading.
All in all a bit on the lean side but burning clean. Especially not knowing the age. A new set of Bosch-4'2 or E2's and check them in a month.
914werke
Ha! I used to race a H1 and had to be an EXPERT at plug chop reading.