Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 914 front fascia aero mods
914World.com > The 914 Forums > The Paddock
Backdraft
Hi all,

I'm a new member, so go easy if you will. Anyways, I'm currently a university student working on a class project for a professor/teacher, which just so happens to entail his modded 914 (see more here).

In a nut shell, he has already bought a front-mounted oil cooler for the 914, but does not know the optimal shape/size of the holes in the front bumper/valance area and the front floor in order to provide the right amount of airflow to the cooler, yet still preserve as much aerodynamics and lowered drag. He has tasked us to figure this out (using Solidworks/Flow Simuation, and a real-life water channel experiment using a 914 scale model), and suggested this forum for advice.

Anyways, has anyone done/looked into anything similar for their car, especially modifying the front fascia area to increase/promote better airflow into an radiator/cooler, and what kinds of results/consequences you noticed? It doesn't even have to scientific at all, I was just fishing for different ideas of how some drivers may have modified their cars especially to promote aerodynamics and/or better airflow in the frontal area.

This is mainly an autoX car, so huge ass fins or wings won't be that important. I'm more looking for slits or opening modifications to the bumper/fascia.

Thanks all for your help.
sixnotfour
not sure if this what your looking for , 20yrs ago.
ArtechnikA
QUOTE(Backdraft @ Apr 11 2010, 03:37 AM) *

In a nut shell, he has already bought a front-mounted oil cooler...

In is easy.
You can get no more air in than you can get out.
Figure how you're gonna exhaust the heated air.
For a variety of reasons, conventional wisdom dictates the exhaust must be bigger than the intake.

The Earls Supply website (hint: they are a Holley company) has a lot of good information on airflow requirements.