Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Swaping a 2.0 for the 1.7
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
aircooledboy
Hey everybody,

Newbie here. I have lurked her for a long time, and learned some great stuff from some amazingly knowledgeable folks. I signed up in february, but this is my virgin post, so be gentle with me, and maybe give me a little cuddle when we are through. I was infected with 914ism when I bought my first 914 "Swiss Cheese Edition" when I was 16 (that was 24 years ago??? AHHHHHH!!!). I have owned 5 drivers on and off over the years , and currently have a very nice 72 with a stock 1.7 that I have had as my summer toy for 4 years.

Recently I picked up a very well running 75 stock 2.0 after the guy driving it said I was full of shit when I told him he really needed to address his very rusty rear suspension counsol mounts before they gave way. Well, shockingly the passenger side gave way. So, now I own it as well as his 2 parts cars. I intend to swap the 2.0 for my 1.7. I know that the 75 is not as desirable as the earlier 2.0, but it is still more HP than my 1.7, so aktion035.gif in she goes.

I have spent about 3 million hours laying under my 914s over the years, but it has always been under 73 or older cars. I had a really nice 75 2.0 in the late 80's, but it was so dependable, I never did anything but replace an air control box. Consequently, I don't have any good frame of reference as far as what things are not gonna mate up when I swap these rascals. My question is a four parter:

1. What parts do I need to change to accomodate the side shifter in place of my current tail shift;