Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: newbie--914 ownerr for 36 hours '75 1.8
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
almus
Greetings,

I am a newbie 914 owner. Said green 1975 1.8 has been
in garage in northern NH since 1984. There is rust,but it is
surprisingly not that bad. Purchased for the princely sum of 500.
Interior good. battery support is rusty but doesn't appear to be
real bad. Looks to be about 62k original miles.

Gas tank contents have reverted to primordial ooze.
Gas tank cleaning kit? or radiator shop? Donor?
Oil is clean; must have been changed just before being
parked. Can't open rear trunk

I am concerned the entire fuel system may be shot.
My thoughts are to find a rusty donor car to
scavenge.

I have some newbie questions.

Will any 914 motor fit in my car? If I get a 2.0 donor,
are there any years that *won't* fit because of ???
(transmission? mounts? etc?)

Any local (to me) gurus willing to show me the ropes?
I am in south east New Hampshire.

Thanks.

-a
BiG bOgGs
welcome.png

Bleed brakes and check all brake rubber

Replace ALL fuel line rubber

Check engine wiring harness for corrosion

Replace all vacuum hoses

Other will add to this list I am sure.

beerchug.gif
Tom
Nice find. And welcome to the sickness.
agree.gif
I would change the oil anyway, use only Brad Penn. Change out the brake fluid also. Remove gas tank for cleaning, repair etc. Replace all fuel hoses with correct rubber lines and blow, clean out all of the non rubber lines really well. Vacuum hoses will most likely leak, so replace all of them too.
Clean and inspect all of the grounds and connections.
There is a lot of work to bring this back. Please don't cut corners as it will come back to get you.
I'm sure there is more, but that is all I can think of right now.
Tom
silverteener
Welcome to the World but...

thisthreadisworthlesswithoutpics.gif
pcar916
welcome.png welcome.png What a great find! Just don't try to start it yet.