Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Anyone know anything about C/F?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
Borderline
As I have a better understanding of how flexible the 914 is, I'm planning on building a C/F targa top and rigidly mounting it to the chassis. My question is: how many layers do you think I need to get a reasonable amount of structural stiffness. I've ordered some 7oz plain weave that is about .015" thick. Right now I'm thinking of 5 layers: 3 layers with the weave aligned with the sides and 2 layers with the weave at a 45* angle, alternating layers. This should yield a thickness of over .075" which I would think would be a good start. As this is my first attempt at C/F and wanting to achieve strength and stiffness, I would like some advice from someone with C/F experience.....

realred914
you will need some bracing either carbon fiber or something else. even the flimsy stock one has bracing on the edges. if your going a flat sheet route, it would have to be pretty thick, and weigh much too much,

since this is to stiffen your car, you need maybe to firmly attach an "X" brace of say steel tubing formt eh windshield frame to the roll bar, then make some light wieght carbon fiber skin for that. Maybe an 1/8th inch thick would be nice, but I am sure you could get away with less as the strngth is in the metal
okieflyr
QUOTE(Borderline @ May 6 2010, 07:48 PM) *