Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Exhaust leak
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
corsepervita
While I'm down there, should I be inspecting anything else? Seems the popping and decel was worse and worse and worse. I finally jacked the car up and had a buddy turn it on, and I could feel leaks throughout the head areas. Heat exchangers themselves were fine, but several of the rings had failed and were bowed.

I'm guessing this is why I'm hearing so much valve noise since I know that stuff is amplified with any potential exhaust leaks.

I'm not quite sure if the buildup is normal and if I should be concerned or if I should be double checking anything. I only had 2 extra rings (that I could find anyway) and have rags in the holes to keep any crap out until the new rings get here.

Tips? Suggestions? Here is some pictures - wanting to bounce this off to see if this looks normal or not? I'm new to these air cooled engines.

I'm assuming the white is mostly just exhaust crap that has built up over the years? Am I correct? Seems to stop off where the valve obviously goes back in or retracts since you can see head hole #1 is sort of cut off in that spot, the other valve is partially open and you can see it. I believe this means it is holding compression and therefore operating as intended, yes?

Aside from that I replaced some vacuum hoses and the rubber elbow that had cracked where the intake attaches to the vacuum hose back to where the oil gets put in so that's good now aktion035.gif

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image

IPB Image
SLITS
The white is from the additives that are in the gasoline. It appears you are running Smell (Shell) gasoline (ok, so I have something against their additives).

I can't tell if your exhaust stud nuts were loose or if the tops of your down pipes are uneven and they didn't seal. I saw black exhaust deposits in one of the images to indicate a leak.