Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: opinion on this MS system for 3.0L?
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
wobbletop
Hi all,
I've got a couple PM replies on this system but they differ.

http://forums.pelicanparts.com/porsche-911...-injection.html

Would this even fit in a 914? Although it's an older MS system using fuel only (no spark) would it offer benefits over a carb on a 3.0L?

Good price?

If you had a 3.0L 914, would you consider it? I apologize if it sounds like I'm trying to be hand fed, but I'm new to porsche's.

Thanks for your help,
Walter
Root_Werks
It doesn't look any taller than the CIS system, and if that's correct, folks have gotten stock CIS systems to fit under a 914 engine lid before.

Don't see why not? confused24.gif
Mark Henry
It will fit with that K&N. You can get a stock system to fit if you drop the front of the engine a bit. Hard to say if you will have improvement over the weber's, you should in driveability, but everything depends on overall condition.

One question... is the TB runners big port (78-79) or small port?
Your engine is stock CIS, but I forget what year, US or euro spec pistons, etc.
Jeffs9146
I am working on a method of fitting the stock system into my 6 and it is shaping up to look very similar except I am using the stock FI system!
wobbletop
Mark, mine is a 78. I don't have details on the internals.

Jeff, is it possible to rotate the plastic manifold 180* so the intake is towards the fan? This would give more room for the intake plumbing but I don't know if it's symmetrical enough.

Edit: Mark, the runners are small port. Not sure it would matter on my '78.
Jeffs9146
Interesting question......I will have to take a look at it later!

EDIT: I just remembered that I was originaly going to try to just flip the whole thing but the fan shroud is in the way so NO, thats why I started down this path!
Mark Henry