Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: electrical issue
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
timofly
VM works normally, showing 13-14 volts with 1000 rpm. When parking lights and/or headlights are turned on, it pegs to the left (low) regardless of rpm.

Where do I start? Grounds? Relays? Alternator and battery are new.

I'm no electrician, but I have the usual collection of meters with mysterious scales and markings....

underthetire
My first question would be where are you checking voltage at?
bfrymire
I would assume by VM you mean the dash gauge?

I would check the voltage right at the battery cable. (Not the post) Then switch lights on. More than likely, if it is charging, you have a high resistance connection somewhere. (Corrosion, etc.)

Use a handheld voltmeter, and after the battery, check it on the back of the gauge. Then check on the ignition swith, fuse box, etc. I would almost bet on the fusebox, or the relay board.

-- brett

QUOTE(timofly @ Jun 29 2010, 07:20 PM) *

VM works normally, showing 13-14 volts with 1000 rpm. When parking lights and/or headlights are turned on, it pegs to the left (low) regardless of rpm.

Where do I start? Grounds? Relays? Alternator and battery are new.

I'm no electrician, but I have the usual collection of meters with mysterious scales and markings....

underthetire
Ahhh now i understand. For future reference VM or DVM is a handheld meter, Voltage gauge is what is in the car. Yes probably bad ground, anything else that would draw voltage to zero ( high current) would start wire smokin.
orange914
check for corroded cables (internal). do a voltage drop check on both positive and neg
dlee6204
Does your dimmer for the dash lights work? Mine doesn't and when I have the dash lights on, the gauge shows nothing. Don't ask me why.
Tom