Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: My arduino cyl head temp display
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
underthetire
My very first Arduino micro controller program. I've never used the Arduino language before ( think it c or C+ ? ) anyways, took me a few hours. Still need to order the thermocouple conversion chips, but looks like it will work. You can see when I put my finger over the analog pins, it does change as it should. Total cost will still be less than a single channel VDO gauge, and I will be able to calibrate it for more accurate readings.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=9UOUeEh11eg
McMark
Very cool! thumb3d.gif Looks like fun. You might think about ditching the "Cyl. X temp" parts and just put all four temps on one screen, like this

2: 120 4: 120
1: 120 3: 120

I put the cylinders in an orientation that matches the motor. cool.gif
jabberwocky
I was thinking a similar rout as I have programed a few AVG microcontrollers and have been thinking of picking up an adrino. Care to share the code? Are you running type J or K thermocouples and what converters are you going to use?
Good luck finishing out the install.
underthetire
I don't mind sharing the code at all. I'm no expert for sure. I did just finish doing a hold screen if the temps go above 400 and an alarm output for a piezo buzer or lamp. Planning on using K thermocouples since I have rolls of it. Mark I like the single page layout, I was thinking a larger screen in the future. Here is the conversion boards with the AD chips on them.

http://store.makerbot.com/electronics/elec...r-v1-0-kit.html
underthetire
i'll put some more notes in it when I clean it up, but here it is..got a arduino and LCD shield on ebay, with shipping it was like 30 bucks total.

CODE

/*

The circuit:
* LCD RS pin to digital pin 8
* LCD Enable pin to digital pin 9
* LCD D4 pin to digital pin 4
* LCD D5 pin to digital pin 5
* LCD D6 pin to digital pin 6
* LCD D7 pin to digital pin 7
* 10K resistor: