Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: 6 cylinder engine identification
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
RiqueMar
I brought this topic up a while ago, but that thread is long since dead. I have this engine sitting around the shop, but I can't say with absolute certainty what model engine it is, partly because of inexperience, and partly because I'm still a rookie.

I know that it was pulled out of a 914/6 some years ago, but I no longer think it's a /6 engine.

One of the numbers reads, "911/02" which leads me to believe it is an 2.2 'S'. Another number reads, *6300063* which I believe is the serial number. Other numbers which I don't know what they refer to are, "1196" and "13595"

Any input? Anyone?

RiqueMar
IPB Image
IPB Image
IPB Image
jasons
911/02 is 2.2S MFI according to Bruce Andersons book. Nice find! I would rather have that any day over a /6 motor. I would price check that over on Pelican. Some S motors go for $$$$.
BigD9146gt
whats the number on the Marrelli distributor... I know its an easy thing to change out over time but it would be interesting if its still in stock form. Can you shine a torch in the cam towers and see the cam part numbers as well?
RiqueMar
QUOTE(BigD9146gt @ Jul 7 2010, 10:46 PM) *

whats the number on the Marrelli distributor... I know its an easy thing to change out over time but it would be interesting if its still in stock form. Can you shine a torch in the cam towers and see the cam part numbers as well?

BigD,

Just tell me where to look, and where to shine that torch, and I'm on it. Remember though, you're dealing with a kid here, so I may be a little clueless.
SLITS
The dizzy in the pic is a Bosch ... not the "yellow" tag "S", but a Bosch dizzy anyway. Numbers will be easy to read on the metal tag.

And, if it was an MFI engine, just look at the back side of the cam on the distributor side to see if that is a drive gear.
rudedude
Nice Find!
And it has the mechanical fuel injection drive on the cam.