Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: SOT: Talking about Cayennes...
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
McMark
I was looking at the early generation Cayennes and thinking about trading the Rabbit in. I haven't really heard of any problems with these 'trucks' but maybe I'm missing something...

Anyone own one of these guys? What do you think? How long have you had it?
Anyone heard of common problems with the drivetrain?

Looking into it for a tow vehicle.
Ferg
PM Salmon boy, he got one a few months ago to tow his travel trailer.

smontanaro
I have no first-hand experience, but I've heard something about some plastic (coolant?) piping which is prone to failure and hard to get at (thus necessitating big $$ repair bill). Here's linky: coolant pipe poll
Tom_T
Mark, check the Consumer Reports ratings on them by MY for the ones you look at, in order to eliminate MYs with more problems first, then you can steer clear of those in your search.

For some reason, the VW version would score well but the Cay. would be poor in the same MY, so I don't know what's up with that, but it's based on unpaid reader/owner surveys fro all cars & is "real world" averages of past performance of each.

Unless you just have to have the "P" on it - the VW may get you the same vehicle for less coin!
rick 918-S
I was asking over on Pelican and Rennlist at one time. Those guys are rude and completely out of touch with all things mechanical. I did manage to find out that the early year ones were prone to some type of engine failure caused by some block or piston malody.
McMark
Yeah, I haven't found any real 'nitty-gritty' details about common problems.
Eric_Shea
Me...

IPB Image

Here's my thoughts coming from a Mercedes ML320:

I needed the power to tow and... I'm just not a truck guy. Is it a tow vehicle? Not really but it does very well. Here's what you want to look out for in Gen1 cars:

1. Cardon Shaft replacement.