Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Spark Plug reading Help
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
tornik550
I am in the process of tuning my carbs. I had been dealing with some significant rich running issues that I posted in a previous post. That issue is resolved. Now, I am able to drive the car however it seems to hesitate at cruising speeds (2500k rpm). Idle seems a little rough.

I am a novice at reading spark plugs. I am looking for opinions on this plug. The other plugs look the same except the white on the electrode only goes a little past the curve.

I should note that the timing was a bit too advance and has been dialed back a slight bit.

My guess- little too rich, too hot of spark plug and timing too advanced.

Setup info-
Dual weber 40 idf- recently sync'd
idle jet- 60
mains-145
air correction jets- 200
emulsion tubes- f11
vents 32
Spark Plugs- NGK BP7ES
Engine- 2.27l

I should also note that I have a lot of spark plugs laying around. Doe anybody know if a NGK BP8ES is hotter old colder than BP7ES (think its colder).
Mark Henry
Way to lean!
engine specs?
Kirmizi
http://www.dansmc.com/Spark_Plugs/Spark_Plugs_catalog.html

Here's a good photo reference
Mike
tornik550
QUOTE(Mark Henry @ Jul 26 2010, 11:36 PM) *

Way to lean!
engine specs?

For my future reference- what makes you think too lean? I thought maybe a little rich because I had some black soot on the base ring.

Engine Specs-
2.27l-recently rebuilt by local porsche builder using parts I provided.
78.5mm crank
96mm jugs
2.0l heads
not sure of cam- told by PO was "a fairly aggressive webcam for carbs" whatever that means. I really should have checked prior to assembly.
MSD 6al
MSD blaster 2 coil
bosch 050 dizzy

What do you think I should change?
tornik550