Help - Search - Members - Calendar
Full Version: Is that you clicking
914World.com > The 914 Forums > 914World Garage
motomadness1947
This answer is important to me as I am a 914 newbie, so please be nice. As soon as I turn the ignition on i hear a relay clicking. I know in the book that you should hear the Fuel Injectors Click when you turn the key on, but this sound like it comes from the relay panel under the dash. What is it or do I have a problem?

My vehicle ( I use the term loosely ) is a 1974 2.0 FI
motomadness1947
help, I hope someone reads and posts a reply for me
detoxcowboy
one click? I would not worry about it,Conatant clicking?, you should hear the fuel pump, you won't hear the injectors unless your in the engine compartment..
swl
The relays for the fuel pump are behind your let ear. Back in the engine bay. You should hear it click, fuel pump activates, 1.5 seconds later fuel pump shuts down.

There are other relays under the dash but they shouldn't click on key on. Is the car doing anything odd (other than clicking)?
VaccaRabite
does your car have FI or carbs?

Many carbed cars have a loud fuel pump wired to run whenever the ignition is on. If your car is carbed, that may be what you are hearing.

Zach
motomadness1947
It is under the dash and it is a constant click like a turn signal indicator (which it is not) today I will pul the panel and check which one is doing it.

Thanks now that I know it is not a normal click, it is time to dash dive

Bruce
motomadness1947
Okay, George Husseys book says that if you hear a constant clicking it is your turn signal, master cylinder warning switch, hand brake warning switch relay being acivated because the warning switch has to be reset of the brakes rebled. so have checked the hand brake warning switch it is acting properly as it only brings the light on when I engage it. I have the wire to the master cylinder warning switch disconnected as it activates the warning light when I plug it in as it is faulty.